Holmberg named to National Conference of State Legislatures leadership post

BISMARCK–A Grand Forks state senator has been appointed co-chairman of the National Conference of State Legislatures’ Redistricting and Elections Committee.

“I am honored to represent the states’ agenda in the continuing debate over the changing state-federal relationship,” Sen. Ray Holmberg, R-Grand Forks, said in a statement.

The Redistricting and Elections Committee is one of 12 standing committees of the National Conference of State Legislatures, a news release said. These committees are responsible for developing policy directives that guide the organization’s states’ agenda on Capitol Hill and within the administration.

The directives stress: opposition to unfunded federal mandates, prevention of unnecessary preemption of state laws, protection of state revenue sources, and increased state flexibility in state-federal programs, the release said.

“Senator Holmberg brings a great deal of knowledge and experience to the table,” NCSL  President Stephen Morris said in a statement. “I am pleased that he has accepted the appointment, and I look forward to his valuable contributions to state public policy over the next year.”

Holmberg has served in the North Dakota Senate since 1976 and is chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee and the 2011 Redistricting Interim Committee. He served on the states’ redistricting committees in 1981, 1991, and 2001.

The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves legislators and staffs of the states, commonwealths and territories.

Senate committees finalized

The Senate has compiled its list of committee assignments for the 2011 Legislature.

Sen. Ray Holmberg, R-Grand Forks, will serve as chairman of the Appropriations Committee.  Sen. Layton Freborg, R-Underwood, will chair Education. Sen. Dwight Cook, R-Mandan, will chair Finance and Taxation.

Sen. Jerry Klein, R-Fessenden, will chair Industry, Business and Labor. Sen. Dave Nething, R-Jamestown, will chair Judiciary. Sen. Judy Lee, R-West Fargo, will chair Human Services.

Sen. Dick Dever, R-Bismarck, will chair Government and Veterans Affairs. Sen. Stan Lyson, R-Williston, will chair Natural Resources. Sen. John Andrist, R-Crosby, will chair Political Subdivisions.

Sen. Gary Lee, R-Casselton, will chair Transportation, and Sen. Tim Flakoll, R-Fargo, will chair Agriculture.