UPDATED: Winners announced in North Dakota Governor’s Photo Contest

UPDATED TO INCLUDE LINK TO SEE OTHER PHOTOS. BISMARCK–A photo of horses in the Badlands submitted by a Grand Forks woman won the best in show award in the North Dakota Governor’s Photo Contest.

Jen MacLeod’s photo, Wild Horse Band, was photographed in Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

 Category winners will receive cash prizes and have their work featured in North Dakota Tourism’s marketing materials, along with additional exposure through AAA. 

Photos were judged on originality, subject matter, visual appeal and ability to portray North Dakota as a legendary travel destination in the categories of events, attractions, people, scenery, wildlife, and outdoor adventure, a news release from the Tourism Division said. 

Other winners and honorable mentions are below. You can see their photos here. 

People category 

Category winner: “The Hunter” by Tyson Krinke, Rhame  

Attraction category 

Category winner: “On_A_Slant” by Gordon Weixel, Bismarck 

Honorable mention: “Sakakawea at the Capitol” by Stacy High, Bismarck  

Scenery category 

Category winner: “Frosted Beauty” by Mandy Moore, Minot  

Honorable mention: “Fort McKeen” by Gordon Weixel, Bismarck 

Honorable mention: “MoonShine!” by Jo Mertes, Mantador 

Honorable mention: “Yesterday meets Today” by Tyson Krinke, Rhame  

Wildlife category

 Category winner: “Wild Horse Band” by Jen MacLeod, Grand Forks

Honorable mention: “Three is a Crowd” by Anna Meidinger, Wishek  

Event category 

Category winner: “Upside Down” by Jose Medina, Fargo  

Adventure category

 Category winner: “No coffee shops here!” by Scott Kadlec, Bismarck 

Honorable mention: “Shine On” by Megan Dietz, Fargo

4 thoughts on “UPDATED: Winners announced in North Dakota Governor’s Photo Contest

    • I just noticed that there was a link in the tourism news release to view the additional photos. I apologize I didn’t notice it earlier. Thanks for mentioning it to make me look further and notice the link. It’s up now.

Comments are closed.