Commerce chief stepping down

BISMARCK–Commerce Commissioner Shane Goettle is stepping down from his role to serve as state director for soon-to-be Sen. John Hoeven.

An e-mail this morning announced a series of Hoeven’s staff picks who will move from his North Dakota staff to his Senate staff.

Goettle said he will continue in his Commerce position for most of December to help with the transition.

In early January, he will begin his new job, which will focus on constituent services and “good solid communication between Washington and the state, as well as with the public here in North Dakota.”

Deputy Commerce Commissioner Paul Govig will serve as interim Commerce commissioner until Jack Dalrymple appoints someone to the position. Dalrymple, the state’s lieutenant governor, will become governor when Hoeven resigns Dec. 7.

Goettle has served as the state’s Commerce commissioner since November 2005.

Here is the full announcement:

Senator-elect John Hoeven today named key members to his Senate staff to serve in both his North Dakota and Washington, D.C., offices.  

Joining the Senator-elect in Washington will be Don Larson, Don Canton and Tessa Sandstrom. Don Larson, who currently leads the transition office, will serve as Chief of Staff. Hoeven has tapped Don Canton to serve as his Communications Director. Canton has served as head of communications in the Governor’s Office for eight years. Tessa Sandstrom, who recently served as the Director of New Media and Research for the Hoeven for Senate campaign, will assist Canton in the communications office. 

Building the framework for Hoeven’s offices in North Dakota will be Ron Rauschenberger, Shane Goettle, Eileen Wehri and Monty Rauser. 

To ensure a smooth transition for the Governor’s Office, current Chief of Staff Ron Rauschenberger will continue to serve in that role for Lt. Gov. Jack Dalrymple through the 62nd North Dakota Legislative Session before joining the Senatorial staff as State Director. Shane Goettle, Director of the North Dakota Department of Commerce, will serve as State Director before transitioning to another position within the Senatorial staff.  Eileen Wehri will continue as Hoeven’s administrative assistant and scheduler in the Bismarck Senate office. Wehri has served as his assistant in the Governor’s Office since Hoeven was elected in 2000. Monty Rauser will transition from Constituent Services in the Governor’s Office to Hoeven’s Senate office in Fargo.

 “Our campaign for the Senate focused on bringing North Dakota common sense and values to the United States Senate, and this means having North Dakotans in key positions,” said Hoeven. “These individuals have been a part of a great team in the Governor’s Office, and I’m pleased they will join our team to continue serving both our state and nation.”

Additional staff will continue to be added as Hoeven continues to make his transition to the U.S. Senate.